Rip Curl Pro Portugal Round 1 ON at Supertubos, Round 2 on Standby

  • 04.16.2021

ASP Rip Curl Pro Portugal
Jordy Smith (ZAF), 24, will lead South Africa’s charge at the Rip Curl Pro Portugal.
Image Credit: © ASP/ CESTARI

SUPERTUBOS, Peniche/Portugal (Saturday, October 13, 2012) – The Rip Curl Pro Portugal, Event No. 8 of 10 on the 2012 ASP World Championship Tour, has been called on this morning with Round 1 commencing at 8:15am in clean two-to-three foot (1 metre) waves at Supertubos

“The swell has filled in slightly overnight and we’ll be getting competition underway immediately,” Rich Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “With a spot like Supertubos, it’s imperative that you have the correct wind conditions so we’ll be taking advantage as much as possible over the next couple of days. We anticipate completing Round 1 and have placed Round 2 on standby for a start this afternoon. Good luck to all our competitors today.”

Up first this morning will be Adriano de Souza(BRA), 25, Brett Simpson (USA), 27, and Raoni Monteiro (BRA), 30, in the opening heat of Round 1.

The Rip Curl Pro Portugal will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto

Heat 1: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Brett Simpson (USA), Raoni Monteiro (BRA)
Heat 2: Taj Burrow (AUS), Alejo Muniz (BRA), Jadson Andre (BRA)
Heat 3: John John Florence (HAW), Kai Otton (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA)
Heat 4: Mick Fanning (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW)
Heat 5: Kelly Slater (USA), Damien Hobgood (USA), Dillon Perillo (USA)
Heat 6: Joel Parkinson (AUS), Kolohe Andino (USA), Pierre Valentin Laborde (FRA)
Heat 7: Owen Wright (AUS), Bede Durbidge (AUS), Yadin Nicol (AUS)
Heat 8: Josh Kerr (AUS), Heitor Alves (BRA), Taylor Knox (USA)
Heat 9: Gabriel Medina (BRA), Miguel Pupo (BRA), Matt Wilkinson (AUS)
Heat 10: Jeremy Flores (FRA), Michel Bourez (PYF), Adam Melling (AUS)
Heat 11: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Travis Logie (ZAF)
Heat 12: Julian Wilson (AUS), Adrian Buchan (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT)

  • 04.16.2021