2012 ASP World Surfing Awards Honors Champions Amidst Rock Extravaganza

  • 04.16.2021

Kelly Slater

GOLD COAST, Queensland/Australia (Friday, February 24, 2012) – The 29th Annual ASP World Surfing Awards went off tonight at the Gold Coast Convention and Exhibition Centre with the world’s best surfers trading the beachwear for formal attire as the 2011 ASP World Champions were officially crowned.

Kelly Slater (USA), 40, and Carissa Moore (HAW), 19, took top honours for the evening, collecting the ASP World Title and ASP Women’s World Title respectively.

“I have actually been on tour longer than some of my fellow competitors have been alive,” Slater said. “All joking aside, it’s truly humbling to be up here and honoured in front of such an incredible collection of surfers. I want to thank everyone in the room for pushing me to where I am.”

In addition to honouring the 2011 ASP World Champions, the ASP World Surfing Awards included new accolades voted on by the fans and the surfers themselves.

For the first time in several years, ASP Life Membership was awarded to Hawaiian legend and icon of high-performance surfing, Larry Bertlemann (HAW), 56.

“Where surfing is today is where I dreamed it should be in the 70’s,” Bertlemann said. “You guys absolutely deserve this and I’m so honored to be up here in front of you all tonight.”

Grammy Award-winning artists Wolfmother and The Vernons rounded out the night’s entertainment which was all streamed LIVE around the world on YouTube.com.

Highlights will soon be available via http://www.aspworldtour.com

ASP World Champion: Kelly Slater (USA)
ASP Women’s World Champion: Carissa Moore (HAW)
ASP World Runner-Up: Joel Parkinson (AUS)
ASP Women’s World Runner-Up: Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
ASP World Rookie of the Year: Julian Wilson (AUS)
ASP Women’s World Rookie of the Year: Tyler Wright (AUS)

ASP World Junior Champion: Caio Ibelli (BRA)
ASP Women’s World Junior Champion: Leila Hurst (HAW)
ASP World Longboard Champion: Taylor Jensen (USA)
ASP Women’s World Longboard Champion: Lindsay Steinriede (USA)
ASP Masters Champion: Nathan Webster (AUS)
ASP Grand Masters Champion: Iain Buchanan (NZL)

ASP Men’s Entertainer (Fan Vote): Kelly Slater (USA)
ASP Women’s Entertainer (Fan Vote): Carissa Moore (HAW)
ASP Men’s Underrated (Fan Vote): Gabriel Medina (BRA)
ASP Women’s Underrated (Fan Vote): Silvana Lima (BRA)

ASP Surfers’ Surfer (Men’s Peer Vote): Michel Bourez (PYF)
ASP Heat of the Year (Men’s Peer Vote): Julian Wilson (AUS) vs. Kai Otton (AUS), Rip Curl Pro Portugal
ASP Manoeuvre of the Year (Men’s Peer Vote): Kelly Slater (USA), Quiksilver Pro New York

ASP Surfers’ Surfer (Women’s Peer Vote): Sally Fitzgibbons (AUS)
ASP Heat of the Year (Women’s Peer Vote): Carissa Moore (HAW) vs. Sally Fitzgibbons, Roxy Pro Gold Coast
ASP Manoeuvre of the Year (Women’s Peer Vote): Tyler Wright (AUS), Roxy Pro Gold Coast

ASP Peter Whittaker Award: Bethany Hamilton (HAW)
ASP Lifetime Membership Award: Larry Bertlemann (HAW)

  • 04.16.2021