Billabong Tahiti Pro: Day 1 Layday

  • 04.16.2021

TEAHUPOO, Taiarapu/Tahiti (Monday, August 23, 2010) – The Billabong Pro Tahiti, Stop No. 5 of 10 on the 2010 ASP World Tour, has been called off for the day, with only small, inconsistent surf available at the main site of Teahupoo.

With careers on the line in Tahiti, the result of the ASP midyear field reduction from the Top 45 to the Top 34 (Top 32 finishers plus two wildcards), this year’s Billabong Pro Tahiti boasts unprecedented importance for the world’s best surfers.

“We monitored conditions for a good while this morning and deemed it not contestable,” Richie Porta, ASP International Head Judge, said. “It was very small and just too inconsistent to run. We’re working with everyone, the surfers, the organizers, the forecasters to ensure that the athletes have the best possible conditions.”

Surfline, official forecasters for the Billabong Pro Tahiti, are calling for a slow start to the contest waiting period with a very modest mix of southwest swells providing contestable, but small scale, surf today and tomorrow.

A full breakdown of ASP World Title Rankings possibilities, including the ASP midyear field reduction, for the Billabong Pro Tahiti are available at

Event organizers will reconvene tomorrow morning at 7am to assess conditions for a possible 8am start.

When competition commences, up first will be Damien Hobgood (USA), 31, Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), 25, and Jay Thompson (AUS), 28, in the opening heat of the Billabong Pro Tahiti.

The Billabong Pro Tahiti will be webcast LIVE via

For more information, log onto


Heat 1: Damien Hobgood (USA), Kekoa Bacalso (HAW), Jay Thompson (AUS)

Heat 2: Jadson Andre (BRA), Luke Stedman (AUS), Nate Yeomans (USA)

Heat 3: Bobby Martinez (USA), Jeremy Flores (FRA), Marco Polo (BRA)

Heat 4: Dane Reynolds (USA), Tom Whitaker (AUS), Blake Thornton (AUS)

Heat 5: Adriano de Souza (BRA), Roy Powers (HAW), Tim Reyes (USA)

Heat 6: Bede Durbidge (AUS), Kieren Perrow (AUS), Joan Duru (FRA)

Heat 7: Mick Fanning (AUS), Adam Melling (AUS), Tamaroa McComb (PYF)

Heat 8: Jordy Smith (ZAF), C.J. Hobgood (USA), Manoa Drollet (PYF)

Heat 9: Taj Burrow (AUS), Tiago Pires (PRT), Tuamata Puhetini (PYF)

Heat 10: Kelly Slater (USA), Andy Irons (HAW), Heiarii Williams (PYF)

Heat 11: Adrian Buchan (AUS), Dusty Payne (HAW), Drew Courtney (AUS)

Heat 12: Owen Wright (AUS), Brett Simpson (USA), Neco Padaratz (BRA)

Heat 13: Fredrick Patacchia (HAW), Matt Wilkinson (AUS), Tanner Gudauskas (USA)

Heat 14: Michel Bourez (PYF), Dean Morrison (AUS), Mick Campbell (AUS)

Heat 15: Taylor Knox (USA), Luke Munro (AUS), Travis Logie (ZAF)

Heat 16: Chris Davidson (AUS), Patrick Gudauskas (USA), Ben Dunn (AUS)

  • 04.16.2021